Perennial Busoga Masaza Cup participants-Bugabula County Football Team on Sunday registered another victory by putting 4 goals behind Bukono County Football Team. Even when football pundits had regarded them as underdogs, the description has since shifted to being title contenders in this year’s edition if Sunday’s win is anything to go by.

The first half ended in a goalless draw in a game played at Kamuli Municipality Ground and watched by several area politicians. However, Bugabula entered second half like wounded lions culminating into four goals making it inevitable for them not to lead Bukowe group with six points and five goals scored. Their goals were scored by Jafali Kaziro, Rajab Waiswa with a brace and Sam Semigugu.

Even when they hail from the bigger Bugabula BB chiefdom, pitting them against each other as regards this year’s edition has brought in some rivalry. On Saturday, Budiope County FC visited Buzaaya County FC in a game played at Luzinga Church of Uganda Primary School ending in a 1 all draw.
Buzaaya had taken the lead in the 43rd minute courtesy of Samuel Ngobi before Budiope’s Joel Waiswa equalized with 21 minutes left to play. The two counties sit joint-2nd in Kagulu Hill Group table behind Butembe who have six points from two games.

Elsewhere, Bukooli Namayingo beat Busiki 2-1 over the weekend. Bukooli Namayingo scored in the 41st minute through Ismael Ndifuna before Busiki equalized in the 81st minute through Dennis Amori upon converting a penalty. However, Busiki’s plot for a draw was short lived as Bukooli Namayingo found a winning goal in the 89th minute through Douglas Soita who headed into the net from a corner kick.
Busiki sit bottom of Mawembe group, Bukooli Namayingo are second with 3 points in a group led by historicals from Bunha.

Relatedly, Bugweri did not find any issues overcoming Luuka. The game’s only goal was scored by Derrick Menya. Bugweri opted for long balls and a defensive system in the second half which in turn handed them their first victory in the tournament. Nhenda group seems to be the group of death with Kigulu, Luuka and Bugweri having three points each.
This year’s edition is sponsored by MTN Uganda and Mayuge Sugar Industries Limited as co-sponsors.
Summary of Results.
Buzaya 1 vs 1 Budiope
Busiki 1 vs 2 Bukooli Namayingo
Bugweri 1 vs 0 Luuka
Bugabula 4 vs 0 Bukono

Related news